Dark Child: Bloodsworn (Omnibus Edition) by Adina West

T I T L E: Dark Child: Bloodsworn (Omnibus Edition)
A U T H O R: Adina West
P U B L I S H E R: Momentum Books
P U B L I S H--D A T E: February 11, 2016
I S B N: 9781760301774
Urban Fantasy

It's open war between the Families of Power and the Tabérin. Two ancient races, witch and vampire, are locked in a deadly battle, and Kat Chanter, descendant of both warring bloodlines, is the only hope for peace …
With the fate of two races resting on her shoulders, Kat is determined to make the best of her forced visit to her grandmother Imara's Napa compound, and learn all she can about the Families of Power and her newly discovered witch heritage. But she quickly learns that Imara's word can't be trusted. Prejudice runs deep in the old coven leader, and her grandmother remains committed to a war with the Tabérin that Kat would do anything to stop.
But Imara's war isn't the only threat to the fragile balance between the races that has endured for centuries. Fanatical factions within the European covens plot to resurrect an ancient power best left sleeping, and the new Vodas is building his dynasty on the backs of a personal guard willing to fight to the death to give him what he wants.
With the unsolved murder of a young witch boy raising as many questions as answers, Kat is discovering blood is the key to everything, including the new Vodas's subjection of his sworn elite.
In this world, blood is power. But blood can betray you.
An urban fantasy full of vampires, werewolves and shapeshifters, which is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments and Julie Kagawa's Blood of Eden series.
This is a full length novel. Dark Child (Bloodsworn): Omnibus Edition bundles together Dark Child (Bloodsworn) Episodes 1-5.

     I found this a struggle to follow along. When I read the description I thought since it said it was episodes 1-5 it would start at the very beginning and take the story through to the last of episode 5. That is after all what an omnibus is. However, it didn’t seem to start at the very beginning.Though I am new to this series, and since this seemed to be the whole story wrapped up in one book, I assumed I would be getting everything as it began. That didn’t really seem to be the case. As I began reading, I became confused very quickly.
     Having said that, it was still very well written and the execution was great. The plot is good and I did like the characters once I figured out who was who. It did hold my interest even though I struggled in the beginning with trying to figure out what was going on. I do suggest to those that read this book, to read any books that may have come before this one.
     I am giving this one three stars. More than likely if I had known there were other books before this one then it would probably have been four stars. I did really like it however, in spite of that.